4th All Azimuth Workshop was Held On Our Suleymaniye Campus

The 4th All Azimuth Workshop was jointly organized by the Ibn Haldun University’s Department of Political Science and International Relationships and the Center for Foreign Policy and Peace Research (CFPPR) of Ihsan Doguramacı Barıs Foundation. The workshop was held in Salis Madrasa of our Suleymaniye Campus on May 17-18, under the title “Dialogue in Core Periphery IR.” Academics from many different countries such as Egypt, Sweden, India, Argentina and England have participated as guest speakers in the workshop.

Prof. Talha Köse, Head of the Department of Political Science and International Relations and the Director of Conflict Analysis and Peace Research Center, and Prof. Ersel Aydın, General Coordinator of CFPPR, delivered the welcome speech, while Prof. Ali Karaosmanoğlu, the Director of CFPPR, delivered the opening speech.

The first day ended with a talk by our President Prof. Recep Şentürk, on his most recent work entitled: “Adamiyyah: Islamic Sources of the Universal Human Rights”.

The program featured three panels and a roundtable discussion. In the four workshops, guest speakers from around the globe focused on the structural factors that define the inequalities between core and periphery IR scholarship and their effect on knowledge production in IR, while delving more deeply into understanding the ‘dialogue/interaction’ that is frequently prescribed as a solution for such discrepancies.

Through the workshop guest speakers presented their papers. Our faculty members Heba Raouf Ezzat and Erik Ringmar participated in the workshop, in addition to Omair Anas from Yıldırım Beyazıt University, Nathan Andrews from University of Northern British Columbia, Gonca Biltekin from Bilkent University, Deep Datta-Ray from O.P. Jindal Global University, Melisa DeCiancio from FLACSO Argentina, Eyüp Ersoy (Independent Researcher), Latife Kınay from Bilkent University, Deniz Kuru from Turkish-German University, Alice Lohmus from Bilkent University, Homeira Moshirzadeh from University of Tehran, Deepshikha Shahi from University of Delhi, Helen Turton from The University of Sheffield and Yongjin Zhang from University of Bristol.